How chamber air is tested
What a laboratory sample measures, how the sample is drawn, what accreditation to look for, and what the interval really is.
Guide
Grade D, Grade E, Grade L, Grade N. Four names, four different tables of numbers, and a great deal of confident vendor copy that gets them wrong. Here is what each one specifies, where the numbers come from, and which authority asks for which.
How to read this page
The grades are defined in CGA G-7.1, the Compressed Gas Association's Commodity Specification for Air, approved as an American National Standard. The current edition is the seventh, CGA G-7.1-2018, which defines verification levels A, L, D, E, J and N (ANSI). That standard is sold, not published free, so every number below is taken from a reprint of the table by an accredited laboratory or an equipment manufacturer, and each reprint's edition is named. Where two reprints disagree, we show you the disagreement instead of picking a side.
Reprint of the CGA G-7.1-2011 gaseous air table, published by an accredited testing laboratory. Grade D and Grade E are the two that matter for chambers and respirators; Grade L and Grade N are here because they are the grades most often confused with them.
| Parameter | Grade D | Grade E | Grade L | Grade N |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oxygen, % v/v | 19.5–23.5 | 20–22 | 19.5–23.5 | 19.5–23.5 |
| Carbon monoxide, ppm max | 10 | 10 | 10 | 10 |
| Carbon dioxide, ppm max | 1,000 | 1,000 | 1,000 | 500 |
| Condensed hydrocarbons (oil), mg/m³ at NTP | 5 | 5 | 5 | None |
| Total hydrocarbons as methane, ppm max | Not specified | 25 | Not specified | Not specified |
| Water, ppm v/v | 67 | Not specified | 24 | Not specified |
| Dew point | −50 °F / −45.6 °C | Not specified | −65 °F / −53.9 °C | Not specified |
| Odour | None | None | None | None |
| Other | — | — | — | NO 2.5 ppm, NO₂ 2.5 ppm, SO₂ 5 ppm |
Source: TRI Air Testing reprint of the CGA G-7.1-2011 gaseous air table. Edition named on the reprint: 2011. The current edition is 2018 and we have not verified this table against it.
This is the single most useful thing on this page, because a lot of specification sheets quietly supply one. In the 2011 reprint above, Grade E's water content and dew point both read not specified. An independent laboratory reprints the same specification the same way: its SCUBA and sport-diving specification table lists CGA Grade E (G-7.1-2011) as total hydrocarbons 25 ppm, CO 10 ppm, CO₂ 1,000 ppm, oxygen 20–22 %, oil 5 mg/m³, odour "none/slight", and water and dew point both N/A.
The same laboratory's kit selection logic depends on it. Its K201 sampling kit is described as "designed for use with routine breathing air specifications which do not have a limit for dew point, such as CGA Grade D1 or E1," and buyers who need moisture results are sent to a different kit. If Grade E carried a dew point limit, that kit would not exist in that form.
What the 2011 reprint does carry is a conditional note, quoted verbatim: "For breathing air used in conjunction with a self-contained breathing apparatus in extreme cold … a dewpoint not to exceed −65 °F (24 ppm v/v) or 10 °F lower than the coldest temperature expected in the area is required" (TRI reprint). That is a cold-weather SCBA provision. It is not the Grade E number.
A published contradiction we are not going to paper over
One compressor manufacturer's air-quality comparison sheet presents CGA Grade E, attributed to G-7.1 (2011), with water 24 ppm and dew point −65 °F, and Grade D with 67 ppm / −50 °F (Arctic Compressor comparison sheet). That directly contradicts the two laboratory reprints above, which show Grade E moisture as not specified. The −65 °F figure is the Grade L value, and it is also the figure in the cold-weather SCBA note.
Our reading: treat dew point as an engineering requirement driven by your application, not as a Grade E table value. Do not accept "−65 °F, because Grade E" as a specification, and do not let anyone tell you a system fails Grade E on moisture. Grade E has nothing to fail. What moisture control you need is a separate decision, and we work through it on the contamination and filtration page.
Three different tiers of document are involved here, and merging them is how bad copy gets written. A Code requires row is mandatory language in an adopted code or a federal regulation. A Body recommends row is a professional or accrediting organisation's standard of practice, mandatory only if you are seeking that body's accreditation. Nothing on this page is a Vendor asserts row, because a vendor does not get to choose your grade.
| Authority | Instrument | Grade for chamber breathing / pressurisation air | Tier |
|---|---|---|---|
| NFPA 99 Chapter 14 | 14.2.9.6.2 and 14.2.9.6.3, as quoted with their paragraph numbers by UHMS | Class A chamber: CGA Grade E. Class B chamber not designed for 100 % oxygen: Grade E plus the additional limit of no condensable hydrocarbons. | Code requires |
| UHMS accreditation | Clinical Hyperbaric Facility Accreditation Manual, Fourth Edition, 2018, criteria HBOV 6.0 and 7.0, each citing the NFPA paragraph | Same as NFPA: Grade E, plus no condensable hydrocarbons for Class B. | Body recommends |
| OSHA respiratory protection | 29 CFR 1910.134(i)(1)(ii) — "Compressed breathing air shall meet at least the requirements for Grade D breathing air described in ANSI/Compressed Gas Association Commodity Specification for Air, G-7.1-1989" | Grade D minimum — but this rule governs supplied-air respirators, not chambers. | Code requires |
| UHMS safety article | Burman, "Compressed Gas (Air) Supply System," UHMS, §5.1 | Proposes tighter than Grade E: CO 5 ppmv, oil 0.1 mg/m³ for breathing air and 0.5 mg/m³ for pressurisation air. | Body recommends |
| US Navy facilities | NAVFAC MO-406, Hyperbaric Facilities, Table 3-2 | O₂ 20–22 % v/v, CO₂ 1,000 ppm max, CO 20 ppm max, total hydrocarbons other than methane 25 ppm max, particulates and oil mist 5 mg/m³ max, odour and taste not objectionable. Note the CO limit is looser than Grade E. | Body recommends |
NFPA 99 Chapter 14 paragraph numbers here are sourced to documents that quote the paragraph together with its number, chiefly the UHMS Fourth Edition manual. We have not re-fetched the copyrighted code text itself. Verify against the edition your jurisdiction adopted.
The update log in the Fourth Edition of the UHMS accreditation manual records that the required grade was changed from Grade D to Grade E in that edition. So if you are reading an article, a checklist, or a vendor page that says "Grade D for hyperbaric chambers," check its date: it may simply be older than that change rather than wrong at the time it was written.
One more piece of vocabulary hygiene. Grade N shows up in UHMS commentary comparisons and in medical-air discussions, and it is a real grade — it is the tightest of the four in the table above on CO₂ and on oil. It is not the grade Chapter 14 names for compressor air. Where cylinders rather than a compressor supply breathing air, the code points at Medical Air USP instead, which is a different specification again. We cover that on what the code requires.
It is worth knowing where Grade E sits internationally, because "meets Grade E" is sometimes presented as an achievement rather than a minimum. Burman's comparison table in the UHMS safety article puts CGA Grade E alongside other national breathing-air specifications (UHMS, Table 1), given here as CO₂ / CO / oil:
Several of those are materially stricter than Grade E on carbon monoxide and on oil. Grade E allows 1,000 ppm CO₂ where most of that list allows 500 or less. None of this makes Grade E inadequate — it is the number the code names, and clearing it is the requirement. It does mean that a system built with margin against Grade E is doing something meaningful, and that a system that only just clears it is not remarkable.
A manufacturer reference sheet keyed to CGA G-7.1-1997 gives Grade D and Grade E limits consistent with the 2011 table, adds Grade J as far tighter — CO 1 ppm, CO₂ 0.5 ppm, total hydrocarbons 0.5 ppm — and carries two notes worth reading verbatim (Air Systems International, CGA Air Grade Specifications):
That sheet's typical-use table assigns Grade D to OSHA breathing air, Grade E to SCUBA, Grade L to SCBA, and Grade N to medical and USP air, and notes that Grades K, G and M were dropped from the table. The odour note is the honest one: it is the only parameter on the list that a laboratory cannot put a number on, and the only one you can check yourself.
If you operate a chamber and someone is quoting you air quality, three questions settle most of it. Which grade, naming the edition? Grade E for a Class B chamber means Grade E plus no condensable hydrocarbons — is that in writing? And what dew point are you specifying, and on what basis, given that Grade E does not set one? A vendor who can answer those three is working from the same documents you now are.
What no one can answer is a question about certification, because there is nothing to certify against. Grade E is a measurable air specification verified by a laboratory sample of the air your machine actually produced on the day it was sampled. It is not a product status, it is not permanent, and it is not granted by NFPA or by anyone else. The next page covers how that sample is taken and what it costs.
Keep reading
What a laboratory sample measures, how the sample is drawn, what accreditation to look for, and what the interval really is.
Where bad air comes from — intake siting, oil carryover, moisture, carbon monoxide — and the filtration stages that address each.
Eleven real low-pressure supply and filtration products, eight with published prices, and why high-pressure fill compressors are not comparable.